Even More Showcase Deals

I want to thank my son, Aaron, for helping build up my cheapo-cheapo comic book collection. For Father’s Day he gave a $100 Amazon gift card and with I bought eight “Showcase Presents…” books.

IMG_20170629_1857538_rewind

For those who have not read my previous posts here is what Wikipedia says about Showcase Presents: “[It] is a line of black-and-white paperback books published by DC Comics. Each book usually includes over 500 pages of reprints, primarily from the Silver Age. A Showcase Presents volume carries the suggested retail price of US$16.99 (increased to $17.99 in September 2009) and is usually devoted to one character, “reprint[ing] all of their adventures in sequential order via cover date,” or occasionally to a specific title such as “Showcase” rather than individual.””

For example, “Showcase Presents Hawkman vol. 1” contains all Hawkman comics published between 1961 and 1964. Vol. 2 has the books from 1964 to 1968. I have both of these volumes.

These books that I bought normally sell for $17 apiece and with $4 shipping, It would have cost $170 for those 8 books.

However, I am finding these books used and in very good condition, some as low as $6.50. (One that I bought for 6.50 and received the other day looked new except the page edges are slightly “yellowed”)

What am buying are collections of comics that I read as kid in the 1960s. Each volume contains on the average 20 issues. With 8 books, that’s about 160 comic books!

Here is what I bought for my Father’s Day gift. These links go to a listing of what each volume contains.

The Atom (1965-1969)

Atom vol 2 (I already have Vol 1 which cover 1961 to 1965)

Justice League of America (1960-1970)

The first four of six volumes cover the 1960s. The other two volumes go up to 1976.

Justice League of America Vol. 1
Justice League of America Vol. 2
Justice League of America Vol. 3
Justice League of America Vol. 4

Supergirl (1961-1965)

Supergirl appeared in Superman and Action Comics. The two volumes cover the period from her first appearance, life at the orphanage, and then her high school years.

Supergirl Vol. 1 (Contains 42 Supergirl reprints from Action Comics)
Supergirl Vol. 2

Showcase Presents Superman Vol. 2 (November 1959 – May 1961)

Superman Vol. 2 I already have volume 1 and there are total of 5 volumes in this series.

Here is a Wikipedia article lists all Showcase Presents titles.

My focus is on the collections of titles from the 1960s that I read as a kid: Green Lantern (5 vols), Justice League (6 vols), Atom (2 vols), and Hawkman (2 vols). Additional I would read Batman (6 vols), Superman (4 vols), and the Superman family stories, which includes Supergirl (2 vols) and Batman/Superman team-ups in World’s Finest Comics (4 vols).

There are two other Superman “family” collections: The Legion of Super Heroes (5 vols) and Superman Family (4 vols). The latter contains reprints from “Superman’s Pal: Jimmy Olsen” and “Superman’s Girl Friend, Lois Lane”

There is more Batman in the 3 volume “The Brave and the Bold: The Batman Team-Ups”

I was never really much of a fan of Aquaman, Flash, or Wonder Woman, but these titles are also available in the “Showcase Presents Series…”

